A version of the CHPS Criteria rating system for healthy, high performance schools is available across America. Known as US-CHPS, our national criteria is based on the CHPS Core Criteria and targeted to those states that do not have locally adopted adaptations. Integrated into US-CHPS are national benchmarks developed by ASHRAE, ASTM, and many more.

US-CHPS Criteria v2.0 (2022)

We made made additional minor revisions to US-CHPS v2.0 in June 2022.

US-CHPS v2.0 became effective on October 15, 2020, and you can read the requirements (criteria) only at the US-CHPS Online page. The full guide as a PDF is available by clicking here to all for viewing or download

US-CHPS can be used off-the-shelf without additional customization or public comment in school districts and school projects in any region or district in the 37 states that do not currently have a customized version of the CHPS Criteria. Alternatively, US-CHPS can be used as a basis with limited customization in these 37 states.

Before you use US-CHPS, be sure to check out our Interpretations and Addenda page for real-time revisions that may not be reflected in the criteria document. 

US-CHPS Criteria 2014 v1.2 (2021)

We made additional minor revisions to US-CHPS 2014 in November 2021.

General Information


New states may adopt US-CHPS for K-12 schools as is, or may add code requirements and/or additional relevant resources without an intensive development process or additional public review. US-CHPS is also a great way to pilot test or evaluate the CHPS Criteria against any state green building/school requirements or incentives.

Similarly, existing CHPS states can opt to adopt US-CHPS as is or as a starting point along with their previous CHPS Criteria.


Most of CHPS programs, including our recognition programs and our Operations Report Card, are for use across a school system or network. Public school districts, charter schools, and private/independent schools (with an independent governing board) may become CHPS members for free and adopt a CHPS resolution committing to use US-CHPS Criteria and/or the Operations Report Card for all of their schools.


US-CHPS may also be used for individual public, charter, and private construction projects. Projects must meet or exceed applicable code requirements for school construction projects within that particular state or local jurisdiction, i.e. covered by US-CHPS.

However, US-CHPS may not be used for projects in states covered by locally adopted CHPS Criteria -- currently California, Connecticut, Hawaii, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New York, Rhode Island, Texas, Vermont, Virginia, and Washington.

Recognition Programs Available in the U.S.

Related Materials