The CHPS National Technical Committee is charged with developing and updating criteria and answering credit interpretations which support the work of our on-going projects. The Committee plays an important role within our organization by: establishing and maintaining rigorous high performance national standards and best practices resources in a transparent and collaborative process; solidifying the CHPS commitment to healthy, efficient, and environmentally sound facilities that enhance the educational environment for all schoolchildren and educators; and providing support and suggesting direction to the CHPS Board of Directors and staff.

CHPS Members are welcome to join the National Technical Committee as full participants, in the role described below. CHPS Members can also take on a leadership role as a subcommittee co-chair or as one of two co-chairs of the overall National Technical Committee. Non-members are invited to participate as advisors during our criteria updates (first bullet). Non-members are considered Subject Matter Experts and are non-voting.

Primary responsibilities are to:

  • Review, revise, and maintain the CHPS National Core Criteria and Credit Library to ensure technical rigor and consistency across CHPS resources.
  • Revise and maintain the CHPS Best Practices Manuals.
  • Assist local CHPS Committees when regional modifications or proposed new criteria are being considered during CHPS Criteria Development/Revision process.
  • Issue interpretations of the CHPS Criteria (CCIs).
  • Provide technical assistance for the CHPS Operations Report Card (ORC).
  • Provide assistance and coordination with other CHPS Committees and Subcommittees on cross-cutting issues and criteria.
  • Other technical matters that are occasionally referred by the Board.
If you are interested in participating on the National Technical Committee, go to our application form.


Arnel Catalan, Co-ChairMount Vernon Group Architects
Raffi Manjikian, Co-ChairInterval Data Systems
John Zinner, Transition Co-ChairZC Sustainability


Vacant, Chair 
Alice Sung, Co-ChairGreenbank Associates
Claire BarnettHealthy Schools Network
Christopher Gerber (SME)Gerber Consulting
Arlene Hopkins (SME)Arlene Hopkins & Associates
Tom PhillipsHealthy Building Research
Ying WangOkapi Architecture
Dana WatersCalifornia Air Resources Board (CARB)
Annie Kell (SME)Group14 Engineering

INDOOR ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY SUBCOMMITTEE - (A)coustics, (L)ighting, (T)hermal Comfort, (V)entilation

Heather Jauregui, ChairPerkins Eastman
Samantha Rawlings (A), Co-ChairVeneklasen
Leo Cedolin (A) (SME)Waveguide
Jason DeMarco (L, T) 
Shawn Good (L) (SME)Brinjac Lighting Studio Design
Pat Wong (V)California Air Resources Board (CARB)
Pat Jennings  Carpet and Rug Institute (CRI)
Jani Palmer (SME)EPA
David RhodesDuctMate
Zack Rogers (L) (SME)Daylighting Innovations
Josh Roper (A)Charles M. Salter Associates, Inc.
Trevor Schatz (V)Healthy Buildings
Richard Shaughnessy (V) University of Tulsa
Michael Siminovitch (L) California Lighting Technology Center, UC Davis
Toni Stein (SME)
Ed Stuber (SME)Galson Labs
Ying WangOkapi Architecture
Mir Mohsin Ali (A)Swegon


Sean Denniston, ChairNew Buildings Institute
Vacant, Co-Chair 
James AndertonIndependent Commissioning Consulting, LLC
Christopher ArmstrongPACE Representatives, Inc.
Karen ButlerEPA Energy Star
Oscar CorciosLos Angeles Unified School District
Miles DakeM.E. Group
John Diffenderfer Aedis Architects
Tony HansCMTA Consulting Engineers
Scott HarrisonTXU Energy
Katy HatcherEPA Energy Star
Shona O’DeaDLR Group
Jim Ogden3QC Inc.
Richard Shaughnessy University of Tulsa
James Shwe Maroko & Shwe, Inc.  
Aaron WintersmithCapital Engineering




Toni Stein,
Vacant, Co-Chair 
Bevin AshenmillerOccidental College Department of Economics
Vanessa CarterEcoliteracy Content Specialist at SFUSD
Eric Corey Freed (SME)
Sara GreenwoodGreenwood Consulting
Arlene HopkinsArlene Hopkins & Associates
Mark Hyer (SME)Earth Networks
John Koeller (Alternate)Alliance for Water Efficiency
Thomas PapeAlliance for Water Efficiency
Alice SungGreenbank Associates
Sharon Danks (SME)Green Schoolyards America
Carolyn Kolstad (SME)U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
Annie Kell (SME)Group14 Engineering




Vacant, Co-Chair 
Vacant, Co-Chair 
Nate Belke (SME)VWR
Annie Bevan (SME)Sustainability Made Simple
Gregory Dick CA Department of Resources Recycling & Recovery
Chris LeeJacobs Wyper Architects
Kurt SiggardConcrete Masonry Association of CA & NV
Raja TannousBerkeley Analytical


Anna Klovstad, ChairTahoe-Truckee Unified School District
Carrie Havey, Co-ChairThe Green Engineer
Margi AmmonAdams 12 Five Star Schools
Michal HealySanta Clara Unified School District
Tania Van HerleHarley Ellis Devereaux

SME = Subject Matter Expert (Non-voting Member)